ecobee

ecobee Family Accounts: Frequently Asked Questions

General

 

ecobee currently supports two roles for Family Accounts: Owner and Member. The breakdown of permissions per role can be found below:

Permission Owner Member
View Home information (Name, Address, Details, Utility) YES YES
Edit Home information (Name, Address, Details) YES NO
Delete Home YES NO

Home Management Permissions 

 

Permission Owner Member
View Home members YES YES
Remove themselves from a Home NO YES
Invite other people to the Home YES YES
Remove other people from home except for Owner YES NO

Home Member Management Permissions

 

Home Devices Management Permissions

Permission Owner Member
View and Control ecobee devices in Home YES YES
Edit ecobee device settings in Home YES YES
Add or Remove ecobee devices from Home YES NO
Move ecobee devices from another Home YES NO
Pair or unpair ecobee SmartSensors YES NO

 

eco+ Management Permissions

Permission Owner Member
Enroll in eco+ YES NO
Edit eco+ Utility Information YES NO
Edit eco+ Preferences YES YES
Edit eco+ Time of Use and Community Energy Savings settings YES NO

Yes.

Yes.

A home can have no users with the “Member” role, but always has one user with the “Owner” role.

No, a home will always have one owner, the user who created it.

No.

Yes. You will receive a notification confirming a new member when any new member is added to your home - whether you invited them, or someone else did.

No. All members have the same permissions.

 

Member Invitation

 

You can invite new members in the mobile app following the steps below:

  • Open mobile app and select Account
  • Select Manage Homes
  • Select the home you want to invite someone to
  • Select Home Members
  • Select Add new member

memberinvite1.png memberinvite2.png memberinvite3.png memberinvite4.png memberinvite5.png memberinvite6.png

Yes.

The maximum members in a home, including the owner, is 15.

When you are already logged in as an owner, following the invite link will show a screen that asks if you are the real owner, or someone sharing the owner’s account. Simply follow the instructions on the screen to create a new account, and you’ll be able to join the same home with your own email and password.

 MU_migration_accountverfication.png MU_migration_Logoutaccept.png

 

Member Management

No, ownership cannot be transferred. To transfer ownership to another member, unregister each ecobee device from one account, and register it to another.

You can view the list of members and their permissions in the mobile app following the steps below:

  • Open mobile app and select Account
  • Select Manage Homes
  • Select the home you want to see the members of
  • Select Home Members

On this screen you should be able to see a list of members in the home. Selecting any member shows their permission drill down page.

memberlist1.png memberlist2.png memberlist3.png memberlist4.png 

 

Member Removal

 

You can remove a member from your home in the mobile app following the steps below:

  • Open mobile app and select Account
  • Select Manage Homes
  • Select the home you want to remove a member from
  • Select Home Members
  • Select the member you want to remove from your home
  • Select “Remove Member” on the bottom of the member detail drill down page

memberlist1.png memberlist2.png memberlist3.png memberlist4.png memberlist5.png

 

 

You can leave a home you’re a member of in the mobile app following the steps below:

  • Open mobile app and select Account
  • Select Manage Homes
  • Select the home you want to lave
  • Select Leave Home
NOTE: If a member leaves the only Home they're in, they will be shown the Home introduction wizard.

leavemember1.png leavemember2.png 

 

No, only Owners can remove Members.

 

Home Management

 

No, only owners can make changes to a Home.

No, only owners can make changes to a Home.

 

Adding/Removing Devices and eco+

 

Members can access the installation guides for Switch+ and thermostats, but are unable to register new devices to a home. Only the Owner can.

No, only owners can remove devices from a home.

Yes.

Currently, only owners can view and control the home’s light switch(es).

No, only owners can accept the Terms and Conditions and enroll in eco+. Once enrolled, members can see and adjust the settings, except Time of Use or Community Energy Savings settings.

 

Troubleshooting

 

If the user is running an aggressive tracking/ad blocker (e.g. pihole), you won't be able to accept an invitation until you turn off that blocker

Please have the owner do the following:

  • Open the ecobee app and tap "Account" in the bottom right
  • Tap "Manage Homes"
  • Tap the name of the Home the Member has been invited to
  • Tap "EDIT" under the Home name
  • Tap the green "SAVE" button to re-save the Home Once this is done, the Member may have to sign out of the app and sign back in before the changes take effect.

 

Was this article helpful?

Have more questions? Submit a request